Managing Scenes

In this article:

A Torch AR scene is analogous to a screen in a 2D app – a UI space to arrange content and interactions. In a 2D app, the user experiences interactive digital elements arranged in screens. In Torch AR, the user experiences interactive digital elements arranged in scenes; these scenes are experienced in the context of the user’s real-world surroundings.

A scene contains a set of objects, the objects’ interactions, and the positions of the objects relative to the World Anchor. All scenes within a project, and all objects within those scenes, share a the World Anchor.

Within a project, you can add new scenes, modify a scene name or description, view a list of all the scenes copy scenes, and delete scenes. The Scene manager, located at the top center of the screen, displays the name of the scene in which you are currently working.

Cropped screen shot of the Scene Manager button at the top of the screen

Understanding Scene vs Real-World Environment

A scene is conceptually distinct from the real-world environments in which that scene can be experienced. The connection between the real world and a scene is the World Anchor.

Imagine that you created a scene in one real-world environment (such as a kitchen), then moved to a different real-world environment (such as a living room), and then reset the World Anchor to view the same scene in the new real-world environment. In this example, the real-world kitchen and the real-world living room are contexts in which the scene is experienced, rather than part of the scene itself.

Designing with Multiple Scenes

A Torch AR project can contain one or more scenes. You can use multiple scenes in a project for:

  • Prototyping different versions of the same UI
  • Demonstrating a progression of experience
  • Presenting different views of the same idea
  • Constructing storyboards
  • Creating branching logic and navigation (in combination with interactions)
  • Revealing and hiding information as a user progresses through an experience or workflow

As when designing a 2D app screen, it is possible to overload a scene with too much functionality. By designing Torch AR experiences across multiple scenes, you can make them more approachable and easier to understand for the user.

Adding a New Scene

You can choose to use only the Main Scene, which is created by default, or you can add an unlimited number of scenes to your project. To add a new scene:

  1. Tap the Scene manager at the top of the screen. The Scene Options drawer opens at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Cropped screen shot of the Scene Options drawer at the bottom of the screen

    Note: While the Scene Options drawer is open, if one or more project contributors are currently in the same scene as you, their avatars will appear below the Scene manager. There may be a slight delay before the avatar appears or disappears as the contributors come and go.

    Cropped screen shot showing a contributor's avatar below the Scene Manager button

  3. Tap the Add Scene button. The Scene Name and Scene Description boxes appear, along with the keyboard.
  4. Enter a name for the scene, then tap in the Description box.
  5. Enter a description. For future reference, it’s helpful to add as much detail as possible, especially when you plan to share your project with someone unfamiliar with the project.
  6. Tap the check mark at the lower right corner to add the new scene (or tap the X to cancel). The new scene becomes the current scene and its name appears in the Scene manager.

    Cropped screen shot highlighting the Cancel and Confirm buttons in the Scene Options drawer

Changing a Scene Name or Description

You can change the name or description of an existing scene at any time:

  1. Tap the Scene manager at the top of the screen. The Scene Options drawer opens at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Tap the Details button. The Scene Name and Scene Description boxes appear.
  3. Tap the Scene Name pill. The keyboard appears, and the current scene name is highlighted.
  4. Enter a new name for the scene, then tap in the Description box.
  5. Enter a new description. For future reference, it’s helpful to add as much detail as possible, especially when you plan to share your project with someone unfamiliar with the project.   
  6. Tap the check mark at the lower right corner to accept the changes, or the X to cancel. If the scene name changed, the new scene name appears in the Scene manager.

You can only work with one scene at a time. Be sure the correct scene name appears in the Scene manager before you make changes to the current scene. After you have created more than one scene in your project, you can select the desired scene in one of two ways:

  • Tap the back or forward arrows on either end of the Scene manager to navigate sequentially through scenes without opening the Scene Options drawer. The back and forward arrows only appear if you have two or more scenes in your project.

Cropped screen shot showing the left and right arrows on the Scene Manager button

  • Tap the Scene manager to open the Scene Options drawer, tap Scene List button, then tap the name of the scene you want to use. A preview of the selected scene appears. Finally, tap the back arrow at the lower left corner of the screen to return to the Scene Options drawer.

Note: While the Scene List is open, if one or more contributors are currently in the same project as you, their avatars will appear next to the name of the scene that they are in right now. If one or more of the contributors are also in the same scene as you currently, you will also see their avatars below the Scene manager. There may be a slight delay before the avatar appears or disappears as the contributors come and go.

Screen shot of the list of scenes in the Scene Options drawer

Tip: You can guide users from scene to scene in Play Mode by adding interactions to objects. Users can only navigate between scenes Play Mode if appropriate interactions with scene changes have been configured.

Reordering Scenes in a Project

  1. Tap the Scene manager. The Scene Options drawer opens.
  2. Tap the Scene List button. The sequence of all scenes in the current project appears.
  3. Tap the REORDER SCENE LIST pill. A = handle appears on each Scene Name pill.

    Screen shot of the scene list with handles showing, enabling you to reorder the list

  4. For the scene that you want to reorder, press its = handle for a brief moment, then drag it up or down to the desired new position in the list.
  5. Tap the check mark at the lower right corner to accept the changes, the Undo arrow in the bottom center to abandon changes, or the X in the lower left corner to cancel.

Copying a Scene

Copying a scene is a handy time-saver if you want to use an existing scene as a starting point for a new scene. You may want to add a progression of elements (for storyboarding, as an example) or you simply want to test ideas without regressing the work you have already done. 

When you copy a scene, you copy all objects in that scene and those objects’ interactions, including any scene transition responses. If you only want to copy a few objects (with their interactions) from one scene to another, use the Copy and Paste Quick Actions.
To copy an existing scene:
  1. Tap the Scene manager. The Scene Options drawer opens.
  2. Tap the Copy Scene button. The scene name and description boxes appear. The new name by default is “Copy of” followed by the original scene name. The description by default is the same as the original scene description.
  3. Screen shot of a copied scene open so you can edit the title and description

  4. Tap the check mark in the lower right corner to copy the scene or tap X in the lower left to cancel. The new scene becomes the current scene and its name appears in the Scene manager.

Deleting a Scene

You can permanently delete a scene and its entire contents by following these steps:

Caution: This action cannot be undone. Be sure you have the correct scene name showing in the Scene manager before proceeding.

  1. On the Scene manager, tap the back or forward arrow until the scene you wish to delete appears, and then tap the Scene manager. The Scene Options drawer opens.
  2. Tap the Delete button. The Delete Scene confirmation box appears.
  3. Tap Delete to confirm that you want to delete the scene or tap Cancel to keep the scene.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us