Working with Projects

In this article:

Understanding Projects

A project in Torch AR is a container for your AR design work, not unlike a file that contains your word processing work or a mug that contains your morning coffee. In the strictest sense, a project consists of one or more scenes connected by a World Anchor. As you design with Torch AR, you will add scenes to projects and objects to scenes.

First things first, you need to be in a Torch project before you can start designing. Fortunately, Torch wastes no time getting you there. When you open the Torch app and log in, Torch prompts you to scan a surface with your device and set a World Anchor. Torch then takes you to the Onboarding project to orient you to the app. Just tap Onboarding to get started and follow the signs.

Torch saves your project work to the cloud automatically—no need to look for a Save button. All your projects are available to you each time you log in to Torch on a compatible device.

When you shift focus from designing on one project, you can open an existing project or create new one. You can create a new project either from scratch or using a template. The following sections walk you through working with your Torch projects.

Creating a New Project from Scratch

You can start a new, empty project at any time. The number of projects you can create is limited only by the capacity of the cloud.To start a new project from scratch, follow these steps:

  1. If your Torch screen reads “Scan a well-lit surface with your device” or “Tap anywhere to set the World Anchor,” finish setting the World Anchor before continuing.
  2. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. From the My Torch menu, tap My Projects. The My Projects menu opens and a list of your projects appears.

  4. Tap the Create New Project pill at the top of the menu. Torch prompts you to provide a name for the project.
  5. Enter a name then tap Save. Torch prompts you to set the World Anchor.
  6. Tap the X if you want to return to the My Projects menu; otherwise, set the anchor as requested. Torch opens the new project in Design mode. Now you are ready to create a new Torch design from scratch.

Note: After you have set a name for a new project, the new project is still created even if you cancel the prompt to set a World Anchor.

Creating a New Project from a Template

Torch provides several project templates as an easy way to create a new project that already has some scenes and objects set up for you.

Note: When you create a new project from a template, changes you make in your new project will not affect the template. Templates are a great way to experiment with features without risking work in your existing projects. You can always start over again with a new project from the template.

To create a new project from a template, follow these steps:

  1. If your Torch screen reads “Scan a well-lit surface with your device” or “Tap anywhere to set the World Anchor,” finish setting the World Anchor before continuing.
  2. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. From the My Torch menu, tap My Projects. The My Projects menu opens and a list of your projects appears.

  4. Tap the arrow in the upper right corner of the screen. The Project Templates menu opens, and a list of available templates appears.
  5. Scroll down to find the template you want to use to start your new project. For this guide, use the Torch Overview template. This is the template for the tutorial project that welcomed you when you first signed in to Torch.
  6. Tap the Info button at upper right to learn more about the template and view attributions and credits for the assets included in the template.

  7. Scroll back up and tap the New From Template pill. After a moment, Torch opens a new project based on the template in Design mode and prompts you to set the World Anchor.
  8. Tap the X if you want to cancel and return to the My Projects menu; otherwise, set the anchor as requested. Torch places you in the default scene of the Torch Overview tutorial project in Design mode.

If you did not experience the Torch tutorial when you started using Torch, this is a handy opportunity to do so.

Tip: Creating a new project from the Torch Overview template is a great way to introduce Torch to friends, family and coworkers. With their own copy of the tutorial, they can explore and experiment without creating an account or modifying any of your projects.

Tip: See something you like in a template project? You can copy objects (with their interactions) from template projects and paste them into your own projects. If the interaction between objects interests you most, you can copy the objects from the template project, paste them into your project, then use the replace asset feature to give those objects a whole new look!

Note: After you tap the New From Template pill, the new project is still created even if you cancel the prompt to set a World Anchor.

Opening an Existing Project

To open a project created by you or shared to you by another designer, follow these steps:

  1. If your Torch screen reads “Scan a well-lit surface with your device” or “Tap anywhere to set the World Anchor,” finish setting the World Anchor before continuing.
  2. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. From the My Torch menu, tap My Projects. The My Projects menu opens and a list of your projects appears. Each project card includes, from top to bottom:
    • Name and avatar of project creator
    • Project creation date
    • Your role on the project
    • Project name
    • Time since last updated
  4. Project cards are sorted in chronological order of last update, most recent to least recent. 

  5. Scroll to find the card for the project that you want to open and tap it. Torch opens the project and prompts you to set the World Anchor.
  6. Tap the X if you want to cancel and return to the My Projects menu; otherwise, set the anchor as requested. Torch opens the project in Design mode.

Renaming a Project

You can change the name of any project you own by following these quick steps:

  1. If your Torch screen reads “Scan a well-lit surface with your device” or “Tap anywhere to set the World Anchor,” finish setting the World Anchor before continuing.
  2. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. From the My Torch menu, tap My Projects. Scroll down to the desired project and tap the Edit button.
  4. Caution: Take care not to tap the trash can. This will delete your project.

  5. Tap in the Project Name box and enter the new name, tap Done to hide the keyboard, and then tap Save (or Cancel). Torch saves the new name and returns you to the My Projects menu.
  6. Note: You cannot rename a project that has been shared to you by another designer.

    Tip: If you are currently designing on a project that you own, you can quickly rename that project without leaving Design mode by accessing the Quick Project Settings menu.

Deleting a Project

Caution: Once a project is deleted, it cannot be restored. Deleting a project also deletes all scenes, assets, objects, and interactions within that project. If you delete a project unintentionally, contact Torch Support--we may be able to restore it (no guarantees).

If you want to permanently delete a project that you own, follow these steps:

  1. If your Torch screen reads “Scan a well-lit surface with your device” or “Tap anywhere to set the World Anchor,” finish setting the World Anchor before continuing.
  2. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. From the My Torch menu, tap My Projects. The My Projects menu opens and a list of your projects appears.
  4. Scroll to the card for the project that you wish to delete and tap its Edit pill. A small trash can appears on the right above the project name.
  5. Tap the trash can to permanently delete the project.

Leaving a Project as a Collaborator

You can remove a project that has been shared to you from your My Projects list. To leave a project as a collaborator:

  1. If you are in the design environment of a project, navigate to the My Torch menu by tapping your My Torch avatar in the upper right corner.
  2. Tap My Projects. The My Projects menu opens and shows a list of all your projects.
  3. Scroll down to find the project from which you want to remove yourself as a collaborator, and then tap Remove. A confirmation dialog box appears.
  4. Tap OK. The project is removed from your My Projects list.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us